Portuguese Captain Majors
The following is a list of captain-majors of Portuguese Ceylon. The Portuguese arrived in the Kingdom of Kotte in 1505. By 1551, they had appointed a Captains-major to control the Portuguese occupied territory called Ceylon on the island of modern day Sri Lanka. In that time, there were numerous Captains-major until 1594. The post of Captains-major was preceded by that of the Captain in 1518. In 1594, the Captains-major was replaced with a Governor.
Portuguese Captain Majors - (1551 - 1594)
1. Joao Henriques1551 - 1552
2. Diogo de Melo Coutinho1552 - 1552
3. Duarte de Eca1552 - 1553
4. Fernao Carvalho1553 - 1555
5. Afonso Pereira de Lacerda1555 - 1559
6. Jorge de Meneses Baroche1559 - 1560
7. Baltasar Guedes de Sousa1560 - 1564
8. Pedro de Ataide Inferno1564 - 1565
9. Diogo de Melo 1565 - 1568
10. Fernando de Monroy1568 - 1570
11. Diogo de Melo Coutinho1570 - 1572
12. Antonio de Noronha1572 - 1575
13. Fernando de Albuquerque1575 - 1578
14. Manuel de Sousa Coutinho1578 - 1583
15. Joao de Correia de Brito1583 - 1590
16. Simao de Brito1590 - 1591
17. Pedro Homem Pereira1591 - 1593
Arrived in the Kingdom of Kotte
Portuguese - (1505 - 1658)

Portuguese Ceylon (Portuguese: Ceilão Português) was a Portuguese territory in present-day Sri Lanka, representing a period in Sri Lankan history from 1505–1658. The Portuguese first encountered the Ceylonese kingdom of Kotte, with whom they signed a treaty. Portuguese Ceylon was established through the occupation of Kotte and the conquest of surrounding Sinhalese kingdoms. In 1565 the capital of Portuguese Ceylon was moved from Kotte to Colombo. Christianization attempts by the Portuguese furthered friction with the Sinhalese people. Eventually, the Ceylonese sought help from the Dutch Empire in their struggle for liberation. The Dutch Empire initially entered into agreement with the Kingdom of Kandy. After the collapse of the Iberian economy in 1627, and the breakup of Spain as a united kingdom after the secession of Portugal in 1640, the Dutch-Portuguese War saw the Dutch conquest of Portugal's Asiatic colonies. Eventually, Portugal's Ceylonese territories were ceded to the Netherlands. Nevertheless, there remain elements of Portuguese culture in Sri Lanka today from this colonial period.